don't read the menu options and go directly to the page content 
Click to view menu Click to search

St Mary, Eastling

Home / Community / Churches / St Mary, Eastling
Eastling Church lies southeast of the main street in the centre of the village, about 300 yards along Kettle Hill Road.

Eastling ChurchThe church is set back from the road and is surrounded by mature yew trees (one of which is more than 2,000 years old), with only the spire visible above them.

Parts of the church, such as the base of the tower, date from the 11th century. The nave is from the 12th century; the chancel, the 13th; and the sanctuary and St Katherine Chapel, the 14th.

In 1855, R. C .Hussey substantially rebuilt the nave, the north aisle and the south arcade, and completely re-roofed the nave (unfortunately destroying many medieval features).

St Mary, Eastling, is part of the Benefice of Eastling and Stalisfield with Otterden.

The Priest-in-Charge for the Benefice, currently vacant, lives in the Rectory at Eastling.

Regular Services

Services are normally held in Eastling church every Sunday, except when there is a fifth Sunday in the month when a Benefice service is held alternatelyat Eastling, Stalisfield and Throwley.


1st Sunday in month


Holy Communion (BCP)

2nd Sunday in month


Holy Communion (BCP)



Sunday Freestyle (coffee & croissants from 10.00am)

3rd Sunday in month


Holy Communion (BCP)



Sunday School (in Village Hall)

4th Sunday in month


Holy Communion (BCP)

    Youngstyle in Church, with Cafe style in the village hall every 3rd month

5th Sunday in month


United Benefice Service



The Rectory
Newnham Lane
Kent ME13 0AS

Telephone Icon 01795 890487


Parish Administrator

Weekday Mornings




Janet Payne
Friday mornings only

Revd Angela Cheeseman

Telephone Icon 01795 890487


Telephone Icon 01795 892124


Mr Hugh Perks
Mr Norman Fowler


Church Wardens

Mr Steve Youle
Mrs Audrey Smith



Mrs Liz Bell


PCC Secretary

Mr Liz Bell

Telephone Icon 01795 890233

Deanery Synod Member Mr M. Harlow

PCC Members

Mr Nigel Bickerdike
Mr David Fagg

Mr Norman Fowler
Mr Mark Harlow
Mr Sturat Bromley
Ms Marion Willson
Ms Bay Lees
Ms Sarah Bell



Mr Andrew Baxter


Sunday School Leader

Mrs Steph Youle

Telephone Icon 01795 890368