Enjoy a guided walk in Faversham, Market Town of Kings.
90 minute guided walks start at the Fleur de Lis Museum, 12 Preston Street at the following times:
1st Saturday Feb – Dec @ 10.30
Every Saturday Apr - Oct @ 10.30
Every Saturday Jun – Sep @ 14.30
Bank Holiday Mondays @ 10.30
Cost: Adults: £5.00, Children: £3.00
Includes Free Museum Entry on the same day
The Old Grammar School
Arden's House, Abbey Street
High tide at Faversham Creek
Faversham has many medieval houses that have been wonderfully restored and some fine Restoration, Georgian, Regency, Victorian and 20th Century architecture. The town boasts more than 475 listed buildings, many of which are in Kent's finest medieval road, Abbey Street.
What to see
In the centre of town is the Guildhall, whose Tudor pillars support a Regency hall adorned with a delightful cupola. The Guildhall is surrounded by interesting buildings, including a former pharmacy, with pestle and mortar sign, dating from 1240. Near by are the Town Pump, a cinema with Art Deco exterior and Middle Row. York has its Shambles, Chester has its Rows, and Faversham has Middle Row.
Visit Faversham in December and the town is tastefully illuminated for Christmas. Visit at Easter and there in the centre is the cross.
The Faversham Society's guides know the town's hidden gems, including Hugh Place, the long bricks of Gatefield Lane, pargetting in West Street and the Tudor stable flooring behind the society's Heritage Centre.
The Shepherd Neame brewery in Court Street has a fine exterior, not only the painted vines and hops around the 1869 entrance, but also the 1698 founder's house, Child's 1899 emporium and the Tudor reception centre building where the first bank of Faversham was founded.
The society's guides can show you the Creek, the Queen Elizabeth grammar schools of 1587 and 1967, Arden's House where Alice Arden murdered Thomas Arden in 1551, the site of Faversham Abbey, founded by King Stephen, and the Parish Church, dedicated to St Mary of Charity. Its crown spire can be seen for miles around the town.
For pictures of many of the buildings on the tour, visit Photo Gallery.
Walking tours of 90 minutes covering these gems start at the Faversham Society's Fleur de Lis Heritage Centre, in Preston Street, every Saturday at 10.30am, April to October, price £3.50.
Group tours, including a visit to the Heritage Centre and Museum, can be arranged on 01795 534542 or by emailing email@example.com.
The town offers some excellent places to eat and drink, and there is a market on Tuesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. Convenient car parking is in the Central Car Park (access via Bank Street or Leslie Smith Drive). The Fleur is convenient for those arriving in town by train.