Back to top

T: 01795 503286E:

12 Market Place, Faversham, Kent ME13 7AE

Faversham Town Football Club

Faversham Town Football Club play at the Shepherd Neame Stadium in Salters Lane, to the south of the town.

History of the club

The Club were formed in 1884, entering the Kent League in 1894. In those early years they played under a variety of names including Faversham Invicta, Faversham Railway and Faversham Rangers as well as Faversham Town.

The Club disbanded shortly before the Second World War but reformed when hostilities ended and rejoined the Kent League in 1947, playing home matches on land off of Gordon Square. They moved to their current home at Salters Lane in 1953. At that time the League contained a number of professional outfits so the amateurs of Faversham Town found the going hard but did win the Kent Amateur Cup in 1957 and 1959.

The Kent League folded in 1959 so the Club had spells in both the Aetolian and Greater London Leagues before rejoining the reformed Kent League in 1968. Success soon followed with the Club being crowned Champions in 1970 and 1971 and the Kent Amateur Cup was won for three years in a row between 1972 and 1974.

A brief and unsuccessful sojourn in the Athenian League then followed but the Club returned to the Kent League in time to win the Kent Senior Trophy in 1977. The following season saw them repeat this success also adding the Kent League title for a remarkable 'double'.

This was to be the Club's last silverware for more than a decade until the Kent League was won again in 1990 under the guidance of popular manager Paul 'Percy' Prior. Form dipped after this and the rest of the 90's saw the Club struggle, although the final of the Kent League Challenge Cup was reached in 2000.

This struggle turned into a rapid decline in the new millennium and reached a crisis point in 2003 when the Club were suspended by the KCFA for non-payment of fines, which resulted in the Club being ejected from the Kent League with over a month of the season still remaining.

With the ground effectively abandoned the vandals and drug-dealers moved in and systematically destroyed what was left. Meanwhile the Club Trustees, led by local businessman Ray Leader and ably assisted by the late Ken Hammond were fighting a desperate battle to heal the rift between the then owners over ownership of the Club and the Salters Lane ground.

Supporters club

In a separate development local man Roger Bennett enlisted the help of former player and Reserve Team Manager Pat Miles in forming the Faversham Town Independent Supporters Club. This Club quickly gained a membership of over 300, and was probably the only supporters club in the country with no team to support!

Eventually the dispute over the ground was settled and control was regained by the Trustees and the interim committee. The recovery was slow but with the backing of many local businesses and a small but willing band of volunteers the Salters Lane ground was returned to a fit place to play football.


The KCFA gave the Club a special dispensation to retain its Senior Status and it was with a feeling of great pride and relief that the Club played the first game in the Kent County League at home to Milton Athletic on 13th August 2005.

Promotion was gained at the first attempt to the Kent League where they spent three seasons. Season 2009/10 was to prove their most successful for years, winning the Kent Senior Trophy and Kent League thereby securing Ryman League football for the first time in their history.

The Club currently run five teams:
First Team (Ryman League Division One South)
Reserves (Kent League Division One)
Under 18s (Ryman Youth League)
Under 18s (Kent Youth League)
Under 13s (Kent Youth League)

Who's who

President: Paul Bennett
Chief Executive Officer: Eddie Glover
Chairman and Commercial: Ray Leader
Vice-chairman: Bob Mason
First Team Manager: Ray Turner
Assistant Manager/Coach: Clive Walker
Team Co-ordination Manager: Bill Friend
Physio: Gary Metcalfe
Goalkeeping Coach: Scott Davenport
Treasurer: Peter Clarke
Club Secretary: Alan Workman
Fixtures Secretary: Wendy Walker
Reserve Team Manager: Rob Reardon
U18s Ryman Manager: Kevin Doyle
U18s Kent Manager: Lloyd Beale
U13s Kent Manager: Chris Wood
U18s and U13 Fixtures Secretary and 500 Club Co-ordinator: Kevin Hoile
Club Membership Co-ordinator, Programme Editor and Webmaster: Mark Downs
Child Protection Officer: Tony Gray
Stadium Manager: Stephen Hall
Clubhouse Manager: Susan McIntosh
Salters Lane Co-ordinator: Sid Medley
Head Groundsman: Rob Goodger

Hall for hire

You can hire the club hall for private parties, meetings etc. Please click here for details.

Further information

For further Information about the club, contact:

Ray Leader (Chairman) on 07709 395001
Alan Workman (Secretary) on 01795 534243 / 07919 893451